top of page

About Us

Serving Charlotte-Mecklenburg

Since 1974

July 23 2015 015_edited_edited.jpg



The Black Women’s Caucus of Charlotte-Mecklenburg was organized on March 3, 1974. The Caucus was the brainchild of the Social Action Committee of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated. The late Mrs. Ethel Martin and Miss Grace Solomon were co-chairpersons of the Social Action Committee. This committee was cognizant of the need for Black candidates to fill responsible local and state positions.


Research revealed that of approximately 52,800 eligible voters in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area, only 24,790 were registered. Thus, a critical need existed for a concerted group effort to work for affirmative action in matters of social, civic, and educational concerns. The organizational meeting on March 3, 1974, brought together a cross-section of 128 women from 46 organizations, 28 churches, and other community groups. The founding president was Mrs. Sarah Stevenson, and subsequent presidents were: Ann Williams, Ella Talley, Mattie Caldwell, Andrea Huff, Ella Scarborough, Dr. Robbie Akhere, Carolyn Logan, and Deborah Williams.


Since the caucus was organized, many persons of color have been elected to local, state, and national boards. Records from the Mecklenburg County Board of Elections show that as of December 2011 there are over 130,000 registered Black women voters.

Our mission is to support and engage Black women in community service through appointed positions and elected offices to become civic leaders. Through training initiatives, we foster collaborative relationships with allies for the betterment of Charlotte-Mecklenburg, North Carolina, and ultimately the United States of America.


Chautauqua Denean

Black square.png

Vice President


Jessica Davis


Black square.png


Black square.png


Our Board

chautaugua Denean.jpeg
bottom of page